Driving Without Insurance
Princeton Driving Without Insurance Lawyer
If you have been ticketed for driving uninsured you are facing severe penalties and is important that you are properly represented. If you are found guilty of operating a motor vehicle without insurance you will lose your drivers license for a mandatory one year period, have to perform community service, and face up to a $1,000.00 fine. For a subsequent offense driving uninsured you will be face a mandatory 14 days in jail, two years loss of license, 30 days community service, and up to a $5,000.00 fine. Furthermore, you will be required to petition the Division of Motor Vehicle in New Jersey in order to obtain permission to have your license reissued after your suspension for a second or subsequent offense. DMV will make an assessment and base their decision on whether or not you will be likely of commit another offense in the future. Our traffic defense attorneys are normally able to avoid these penalties by getting your ticket amended or dismissed depending on the circumstances. We represent clients throughout Mercer County New Jersey and surrounding areas. If you have any further questions or concerns please contact our Princeton Office at (609) 683-8102 for a free initial consultation with one of our attorneys.
Uninsured Driver NJ Statute 39:6B-2
In New Jersey you have strict liability for your motor vehicle insurance. This responsibility rests with the owner of the vehicle, or title holder but a person can be ticketed for 39:6B-2 driving without insurance for operating another person s car that is not properly insured. In this state, your auto insurance must be at $15,000 personal injury or death, $30,000 for multi-injury/death and $5,000 for damage to property. The purpose of the uninsured driver statute is to encourage make sure all vehicles on the roads of New Jersey are properly insured to protect the public. A ticket for driving without insurance carries very serious consequences and will often be handled differently depending on the municipal court you find yourself in. We are commonly able to achieve a downgrade to a less serious violation such as a failure to exhibit insurance documents which is just a fine. Some of the factors that play a role in this process are the reason for the lapse in coverage, how long you were without insurance, and whether you were properly notified of the termination of coverage.
If the prosecutor takes a hard stance on your uninsured case it can be very hard to defend, but an experienced and aggressive defense attorney can make all the difference. The Law Offices of Jonathan F. Marshall is comprised of a team of former prosecutors and well-practiced defense lawyers. We will make the state establish all their proofs at trial in an attempt to have the ticket amended to a less serious violation or get the ticket dismissed altogether. If you are interested in having us help you with your case please contact our office today at (609) 683-8102 to speak with one of our lawyers absolutely free.
We serve clients throughout Mercer County, New Jersey — including Trenton, Hamilton, Princeton Borough, West Windsor, East Windsor, Lawrence Township, Robbinsville, Hightstown, Princeton Township, Ewing and Hopewell — and surrounding areas, including Hunterdon County and Burlington County.
If you have been charged with a crime in Mercer County, New Jersey, it is in your interests to talk to an experienced criminal defense lawyer as soon as possible. For a free consultation, you can call our firm 24 hours a day, seven days a week.
The information you obtain at this site is not, nor is it intended to be, legal advice. This web site is designed for general information only. You should consult an attorney for advice regarding your specific situation. Please do not send any confidential information to us until such time as an attorney-client relationship has been established. No aspect of this advertisement has been approved by the Supreme Court of New Jersey.
© 2016 The Law Offices of Marshall, Bonus, Proetta, Oliver.